top of page

IARTC History











The efforts to become a division of ACA began decades ago through the consistent efforts championed by Dr. Peggy Mayfield, Dr. Carol Smith, and Dr. Jane Webber. Working relentlessly with the ACA Traumatology Interest Network (TIN), efforts were made to first grow the membership of TIN to increase support for the application for Organization Affiliate (OA) status, the first step in gaining Division status. Next, a survey was created to identify those ACA members who supported the initiative.  While only 200 members were needed in order to apply for OA status, the survey documented over 1,200 ACA members who supported IARTC's creation.


The International Association for Resilience and Trauma Counseling was approved as an ACA Organizational Affiliate on July 6, 2021. Our application for ACA division status was unanimously approved by the ACA Governing Council on March 24, 2022. We are beyond excited and grateful for this long-sought for designation. We have so many to be grateful to, including YOU as our most stalwart supporters!  We extend our sincerest thanks to every member of the Governing Council, to all of ACA, particularly ACA's amazing CEO Richard Yep, and ACA President-Extraordinaire, Dr. S. Kent Butler. We thank Brandi McIntyre-- who guided us throughout this process with unbelievable patience, wisdom, and grace. We extend our heartfelt thanks to the IARTC Board of Directors, its Committee members and chairs, and each individual member as we could not have achieved this without each of you! We saw you as you lent your hard work and support to IARTC and we are more than appreciative! 

On January 5, 2023 IARTC's Articles of Incorporation were filed in the State of Virginia. We appreciate

Brandi McIntyre who provided support in this essential process. IARTC became a NBCC ACEP in 2023.


On behalf of the IARTC Board,

Dr. Peggy Mayfield, IARTC President (2022 - 2023) & Co-Founder

Carol M. Smith, PhD, LPC, NCC, CCTP, Founding Past President & Co-Founder

Past-President & Co-Founder

Jane M. Webber, Ph.D., LPC
IARTC Founding Parliamentarian, Co-Founder, and Founding Journal Editor--Trauma Counseling & Resilience

bottom of page